A day in Samsun (Black Sea, Turkey)

 photo 11218712_1652312641647528_3528571785762922731_n_zpsplm5fyyh.jpg

I wake in my monastic room at the absolutely delightful Hotel Necmi and start the day with a run along the Black Sea followed by a delightful breakfast served by the hotel owner. I love that pretty much every hotel in Turkey includes breakfast and that the breakfast is always good. Today I go out exploring the streets of Samsun. It’s all I want to do; just meander around taking in the atmosphere. Here’s what I see and experience.

 photo IMG_8836_zpsxzds0utd.jpg

 photo IMG_8835_zpssljskax5.jpg

Men run around carrying delicate tulip tea cups with a single cube of sugar balanced on a small cover over each cup. The cups are carried on special trays with round handles. The men are quick, nimble and look like they never spill a drop. They seem to only serve men. And the men they serve sit on stools outside their shops drinking tea and smoking cigarettes.
 photo IMG_8828_zpsfeuefcxw.jpg

 photo IMG_8833_zpsvn8yda32.jpg

 photo IMG_8827_zps9njbvyfm.jpg
This is a city of contrast. Women in traditional dress brush shoulders with their modern counterparts who wear tight jeans and long hair. Modern supermarkets sell vegetables while a huge traditional market sells more local produce at a cheaper price.

 photo IMG_8823_zpsowde1ib4.jpg

Chestnuts are cooked in handcarts on street corners, proving once again that this country is more Asia than Europe. And, as if to confirm the continental status, an old lady holds up her hand to stop traffic rather like the Korean grandmas did a year ago in that far off land. Speaking of traffic, drivers double park with hazed lights flashing as though that excuses their blocking the single lane alleyways and holding up traffic.

 photo 12107103_1652312651647527_5612431704525577142_n_zps4aiyfhyq.jpg

I’m no longer in Tourist Turkey and firmly entrenched in the Land of Locals. “Where are you from?” the men all ask in their thick Turkish English. “Australia.” “Harry Kewel” they always say. I smile and say “yes, Harry Kewel”. I’m sure they think I know anything more than his name … But I don’t. Haha.

 photo 12096623_1652312661647526_2776427399052231611_n_zpspqajfkdt.jpg

Cats sit on cafe seats as if they own the place.

 photo 12079492_1652312701647522_570631206703932941_n_zpsfnxh2l6h.jpg

The mosques make their presence known through the calls to prayer and the tall spires of their minarets.

 photo IMG_8826_zpstwfmsljb.jpg

Old men polish shoes and boots on portable stands. Their clients seem to be from the older generation too. But it might be that the younger men are working on this blue-sky Saturday.

 photo 12074689_1652312654980860_6228909509183431972_n_zpspsafqyar.jpg

And this sandwich with chicken, pickles, tomatoes and home made sauce set me back all of 3TL ($AU1.50).

It’s not all good here though. Syrian refugees sit on the side of the roads. Not as many as in Bodrum but a few with signs in Turkish asking for money. The word Syria translates easily. A man and woman sit on the footpath. Their heads hung in shame. It must be awful to lose everything through no fault of your own and to become stateless in a world where you need a state to have a future. I feel my heart open and a sense of shame fill me for having been so negative about the refugee crisis from the security of the far flung island nation on which I live. It is a human tragedy that so many people have been displaced. So many families torn apart by war. So many men, women and children now homeless. And so many souls traumatised by the experience of first war and then the quest for safety. I leave some money on the couple’s mat. It’s a large blue bill but it still feels stingy given all blessings that I have.

 photo 12122846_1652312704980855_35591446061005524_n_zpsmmtg9awt.jpg

I go to the shopping centre because that’s something I like to do at least once in each country. It’s not travel unless you’ve seen both traditional and modern. I buy gear for our winter trip to Europe: fleece lined trousers and winter boots.

And then I indulge in my favourite pastime: the cinemas. I watch The Walk in 3D. It’s a wonderful movie about commitment, passion and perseverance. The seats are comfortable and the quality of the cinema brilliant. Mind you, this is a brand new shopping mall so that’s probably why. Half way the film stops and advertisements start. They have a half time break in Turkey. Wonderful because I was busting for the bathroom but didn’t want to miss the movie. If you travel, go to the movies along the way. It’s actually fascinating to see how different the experience is in each country.

 photo IMG_8837_zpsvj5luv57.jpg

The movie ends after dark. I walk the 2.5km back to my hotel, taking detours and back roads as I find myself distracted by the sights. The sound of dice and backgammon pieces competes with the call of the mosque. When I stop in a bakery to buy a treat there is a policeman standing there. He steals a small chocolate eclair pastry and hands it to me with a wink then leaves. The chocolate mousse cake that I buy is divine. Back outside the contrasting life goes on. Modern shops sell fashion brands while some street vendors sell socks from carts. How I love this place where East and West collide. It’s like being in a fantasy world where everything is possible and anything might happen.

Leave a Reply

