Yalikavak to Cokertme (Agean, Turkey)

 

I wake early and listen to the water lap at the yachts in the marina.  I cannot yet make out the shapes because it is dark. The only light comes from the security lighting on the marina walkways. It’s so peaceful. I’m not a sailor but I do like to wake up on a boat. Especially when I’ve slept outside. 

  
 I enjoy a quiet morning blogging and phoning home. It takes a long time for the sun to rise and the day to kick off. I’m not used to a long slow dawn. At home when it gets lift the sun rises quickly. Here it lazes in bed and hits snooze a few times before gracing us with its golden glow. Poor old grey light of dawn actually had to work hard here for a few hours. But once up there’s no denying the beauty of the sun’s glow over the marina. That second picture is of “our” boat. 

  

We have a little hold up with the radio not working properly but once that’s resolved Dad takes his skipper’s position at the helm and we set off. This is a familiar sight for me … Dad at the helm. It is entwined with so many memories from childhood, adolescence and adulthood. It takes me back to Moreton Bay, the Great Sandy Strait and the Whitsundays back home. Not bad places from which to have memories. 

 

White washed buildings form a barrier between the deep blue Agean Sea and the grey-brown hills of Turkey’s coast. I’m still not used to this view. Maybe by the time I leave whitewashed square houses will be more normal to my eyes. 

And then we leave the buildings behind as we head further out to sea. We will be taking an eastern route into Gokovac Korfezi. This is a huge bay-like space that’s more then 25nm wide and 40nm long. There’s no tides and few currents here. For those more familiar with the Greek Islands, we will be traveling past the northern coast of Kos heading east.

   

What little wind there is (<5 knots) blows directl towards us so we motor around the peninsula. We pass the point where the Syrian refugees are making their crossing attempts for Kos. A shoe floats in the water. Maybe it’s on of their’s or maybe it’s just coincidence. Being here I change my thoughts on the situation and realise the desperation they must experience to be making this journey. I no longer buy into the media’s slant on it.  

We stop at Kara Ada (Black Island) for lunch. The water is deep right to the shore. We drop anchor in 15m depth within cooee of the rocky shoreline. The crazy thing is that we can see the sea bed below us. Mum is first in the water. She loves to swim and is not afraid of water creatures. I jump in. My automatic “there’s sharks in Moreton Bay” instinct kicks in. It’s something I need to get over because it means I miss out on enjoying swimming in the sea. But oh my, it’s worth taking the plunge and I am again swimming in another amazing new location. 

  

We eat salad for lunch and set off again. Mum takes the helm and Dad sets the sails. Usually it’s the other way round but our briefing did not include explanation of which ropes operated which control. It takes a bit of experimentation until finally we discover that the least likely rope is the one that pulls the sail back down.  

Logistics worked out we can continue. There is stil no wind but motor sailing is nicer than just motoring.

   

We continue along the coast to Cokertme where we drop anchor in the eastern bay. Turkish-style anchoring is new to us. The lack of tide means boats don’t all swing in the same direction like they do at home. So you need to throw out a shore line that you secure to the rocks. I row the dingy to the shore (not gracefully I might add) and tied our lines to big rocks like I notice others have done. Next time I will swim. The  dingy was difficult to handle. 

 

All that’s left to do is enjoy the bay.  I stay in the dingy and go for a row. I took lots of nice photos but they are on my camera so we all have to suffice with these iPhone pics for my blog because I am blogging from my phone. 

Clouds have rolled in and the wind is cold. We eat a delicious chicken and vegetable stew in the cabin and laze the night away before I throw my sleeping bag into the deck and call it a night. It’s been a good day.
 

One thought on “Yalikavak to Cokertme (Agean, Turkey)

  1. I thought you tied up the ropes in style. A special style to first loose an oar and then nearly loose the boat because you forgot the rope. Haha. I also like the way you step into a boat. No need to warn: don’t rock the boat with you ’round….. Glad to hear you are going on a three day advanced kayack camp!

Leave a Reply

