Plans for Turkey – The Lycian Way

I am going to Turkey for a month in September. Mum is joining me for a week so that we can enjoy some travel together. Originally, Mum and I were going to cycle tour around Western Turkey. But after talking with the Aussie I met in Hungary and reading another Aussie’s blog about hiking the Pacific Crest Trail I realised that I am longing for some good old fashioned hiking. It didn’t take much convincing for Mum to agree to a hiking trip instead of a cycling one.

Today Mum and I met up for a bushwalk. And, while we were at it, we compared notes about blogs, walk reports and other online information we found about hiking in Turkey. The end result: I have just placed an order for Kate Clow’s Lycian Way guidebook and maps. Mum and I will walk together for a week, Dad might join us for a few days and then I’ll complete the end of the 510km walk on my own after they leave to do other things.

I am super excited. Now I just need some hiking boots and trekking poles because I think these will help ease the pressure on my plantar fasciitis and heel spur.

2 thoughts on “Plans for Turkey – The Lycian Way

Leave a Reply

