Paddling the mouth of the Pine River (Brisbane, Australia)

 photo 56D24024-257C-4331-9ED6-228E85FB643B_zpswhltdzeu.jpg
It’s late afternoon and the tide has almost run out. The mouth of the Pine River always looks fantastic at low tide in the golden colours of the late afternoon sun. People stand on the long sandbars to fish while their dogs play in the water. On the days when I ride home from work across the Ted Smout Bridge and look west to this view I feel happy. Today I have a chance to join them. But not to fish; I am going to packraft up the river in search of a geocache.
 photo F12B82FA-E81F-485E-974F-5E3ADBCC7517_zpsj2xf8obq.jpg
It’s been too long since I used my packraft. I seem to have been caught up in the hum drum of day-to-day life. You know that stuff: work, university study, laziness. The former is probably the least of my excuses and the latter the most relevant. As soon as I sit in the boat I feel at ease. I paddle up the river against the last of the outgoing tide with the wind at my back. I have just under three hours until dark but already the sun is sitting low on the horizon, creating beautiful light reflections off the water and wet sand.
 photo 19D68103-8DA3-4D48-81CC-4F1D5900081F_zpsgng7p97b.jpg
I’m in no hurry so I take the time to pull up on the river’s banks. When the tide is high the water covers this entire area and creates a swampy mangrove habitat. But at low tide the sand is hard enough to walk on and there are even a few patches of soft beach sand a little higher up the banks. Those small patches quickly give way to mangrove swamp behind them but they do look pretty all the same.
 photo A2B2A654-7844-43AE-AE11-901798C79EE6_zpsazfpoyfh.jpg
It’s easy to dismiss Brisbane’s mangrove-lined waterways as ugly, smelly and muddy. But I have come to appreciate them as a symbol of home. I grew up having running races through thigh-deep mangrove mud with my sisters and learning how to walk between the trees’ breathing tubes without them stabbing my foot (they don’t cut but they still hurt when you stand on them). I recently read that mangrove-lined waterways are the breeding ground for over 70% of the fish we eat here in Australia so they are very important despite their bad wrap. That aside, I like the versatility of the mangrove trees and the way they look, both when standing dry at low tide and when submerged with only their leaves showing through the water.
 photo 0D4B50F9-EDC3-4860-83FB-FDCF9CEE4841_zpsmna27ivp.jpg
I paddle for an hour until I reach the geocache location. It’s cleverly hidden. I sign the log, replace the cache and log the find online. Then I head back towards my start point. The tide is just about to turn and the wind has picked up, creating small waves to paddle into. I bounce over them as I make my way down the river towards the sandbanks where I started. My shadow starts to grow longer in the water ahead of me and the roar of the commuter traffic on the Ted Smout Bridge starts to fill my ears over the blowing of the wind. By the time I get back the sun has sunk low enough for a sunset photo before I head home.

5 thoughts on “Paddling the mouth of the Pine River (Brisbane, Australia)

  1. Sounds idyllic, folk have been biking & pacrafting across Scotland. The sight of a bike being paddled on top of the pacraft fills me with admiration. Check some vids out on YouTube.

    • Ooh biking and packrafting Scotland sounds like an amazing experience. Do you have any links you can share or places I should add to my list? From October I am planning on spending a year going back and forth between Europe & the UK. I am going to cycle tour France in October, fat bike Swedish Lapland in January. What’s the weather in Scotland like around Easter? Still miserable and cold? Or clear and cold? I am thinking about a trip to Holland for a fortnight from Easter 2016 followed by a month somewhere in Europe / UK adventuring. Scotland might be the ideal place because I will have spent too much time in the Shengan countries.

Leave a Reply

