Redcliffe days

I’m currently back home in Redcliffe, a coastal peninsula north of Brisbane. Here’s some of what I’ve been up to for the past week.
 photo 84E0FBF7-48EB-4EA6-855F-69CE25C88C72_zpshk6lynhl.jpg
I’ve enjoyed fish and chips on the beach across the road from our home.
 photo 0BEBF771-D25A-43E6-930C-B075CA559522_zpsnyegabgh.jpg
I’ve been running training because I’ve entered the Gold Coast Marathon, which is being run on 5 July. I entered because I need a fitness goal. I’m not a great runner but hopefully I can complete the event within the 6:40 cut off by run/walking the whole course.
 photo A17B7306-AD89-4F24-87BD-5B01A7B319FF_zpszio7k0uc.jpg
As part of my training I have been running up and down these stairs that lead to a small beach that gets inundated at high tide. It makes stair training quite pleasant when the view is like this.
 photo 728ED086-BF50-4B9B-ADF2-7E5B5B732530_zps7kq2zbcr.jpg
I’ve been combining geocaching with my running training. The geocaching gives me something to aim for on my running outings. It also ends up with me seeing some interesting things, like these twisted and gnarled trees that are in a park near the Morgans fish shop in Scarborough.
 photo 33A20CBA-66D4-4739-8475-17889B8EB1A0_zpsrphuqkuj.jpg
It’s also taken me down to the Gayundah Shipwreck, which I’ve been to before but never tire of.
 photo 7F3FA2D8-FC3D-4A9D-B0B1-142FE52A92CF_zpsqbsfuar8.jpg
We’ve been walking 5km almost every night; sometimes as late at 11pm. The full moon this week has been stunning. But the winner of most beautiful night photo for this trip so far goes to the Ted Smout Bridge, which we walked across on a windy night. I like the way the lights reflect on the waters where Moreton Bay meets the Pine River.
 photo D2928A0D-8F05-41A9-97AB-3FDAABEEDC44_zpsz1sn8gyz.jpg
We’ve been hitting the gym and pool most days the past fortnight doing boxing classes and swimming laps. It’s part of our desire to continue to get fit. It’s led to my body returning to its old rhythm of early starts, which has led to me watching the sun rise from the beach a few times.

While I am loving being home, I find myself getting restless to explore the world some more. I particularly need to get back out into nature so will be resuming my travels from 31 March when I go to Malaysia and Japan. On my return from those trips I will be doing some more long trips here in Australia. So it means that I want to enjoy my next 19 days in Redcliffe before I spend some months away again.

One thought on “Redcliffe days

  1. Thanks for sharing your life with me. I enjoyed reading how puffed you must get! When I have more time I join you. By then you can keep up with me, haha! But, I am looking forward to such time…..

Leave a Reply

