Jombang to Tuban (East Java)

The ride to Tuban is uneventful. I have chosen to come here because it is one of the few places between Jombang and Semarang that has accommodation within my price range. Mr Google Images shows me that it is also probably the most interesting place between Jomban and Semarang. It’s only about 70km from Jombang, leaving me a long 220km final day’s ride so I am a little concerned about whether I have made the right decision to come here. But it turns out I needn’t have worried. Tuban turns out to be a delightful place for my final night of this motorcycle touring leg of my journey through Java.
 photo IMG_3734_zps0fc9d67d.jpg
My cousin messages me to recommend that I ride about 10km east of Turban because there is a nice view there. I don’t know what to expect but know when I am there. The road tracks right along the beach and beautifully coloured fishing boats are lined up right there.
 photo IMG_3739_zps5f153b23.jpg
I park the bike on a rock pier that separates two beaches. From my vantage point I can watch what I think is a spear fisherman going about his business diving in the water. He is too far away for me to capture with a photo but close enough to be interesting by the naked eye.
 photo IMG_3741_zpsa5f94cfe.jpg
The motorbike casts the only relieving shade from the midday sun so I take shelter next to it. A sea breeze cools the day just enough to enjoy the sound of boats creaking and bobbing quietly on the water. The only reason I leave is because I see lighting cracking in the sky to the south and decide it’s not worth getting wet when I can go to my hotel, shelter from the rain and come out again in a couple of hours time. So that’s what I do.
 photo IMG_20141127_173525_zpsp61f0sgz.jpg
The rains don’t eventuate but I still enjoy the quiet cool of my hotel room for a couple of hours before I head out on foot to explore Tuban. The first thing I cannot miss is the gorgeous Grand Mosque of Tuban. It’s rather like a fairy princess castle with it’s bright colours and tall spires. It’s almost prayer time and the street near the mosque is packed with kakilima (food carts), scooters, women in beautifully clean and pressed head coverings, and men wearing traditional Islamic robes and hats. What strikes me most is that Indonesian people manage to keep their best clothes so clean and crisp despite the heat, humidity and dust. I feel like a grot by comparison in my grimy travel clothes. Even at home I doubt my clothes ever look this good. I want to know their secret.
 photo IMG_3748_zps08f10a0b.jpg
There is a park near the sea with a long pier you can walk down. It costs 2,200rp (20c) to enter, which is relatively cheap for a Javanese beachside park. The fee applies to tourists and locals alike and is the same for both. The park is quiet and peaceful. Coloured boats bob in the water, the town’s lights glimmer in the water couples walk hand-in-hand, a few groups of men squat along the water’s edge talking and thin boys wearing jeans and dirty t-shirts walk in threes and fours with at least one carrying a small guitar. I walk the pier before I find a place to sit and listen to the mosques’ calls. I say mosques plural because as well as the Grand Mosque of Tuban I can hear the words and music of other mosques drifting through the air. It adds texture to the sensory experience of being here. I lay on my back on the still hot concrete. Through the magic of technology I have Messenger conversations with my sister, parents and friend. It’s like we’re all sitting there on the waterfront together.
 photo IMG_20141127_193710_zpsi5vc0ckl.jpg
My stomach tells me that it is time to move. I am thirsty and want to eat. You cannot buy drinks in the park so I walk out to discover the small market I walked through earlier is now in full swing. A large warung makkan has been set up and has many customers. Most have just come from the mosque and their white clothes are as still as crisp as they were. I feel underdressed sitting on the benches that line the warung’s benches but the ladies selling the food smile and show me what’s in the big pots. I decide on a chicken dish that looks, smells and tastes exactly like something my mum cooks. I don’t know what it’s called but it’s a yellowish soup with big pieces of chicken meat. The chicken and sauce are served with rice. I also take a boiled egg from the displayed foods to eat with it. Later I also try a piece of fried mackeral. It all tastes so good that I have to stop myself from trying one of everything.
 photo IMG_20141127_195135_zpsnwio1ox7.jpg
On the walk back to my hotel I pass a terang bulan cart. This is my weakness and before I know it I’ve bought a standard style one with chocolate. Watching it being made is part of the experience. The man from the cart first spoons the batter into his pan. Then he covers it with condensed milk from a can and sprinkles over some sugar. He waits for the batter to start rising before covering it with a lid. A short while later he lifts the whole thing out, places it on the cart’s bench, sprinkles over the chocolate sprinkles (Dutch hagelslag), folds the terang bulan in half and cuts it into pieces. The dish is served in a small cardboard box that he takes from a stash under his cart. It’s the perfect desert.

4 thoughts on “Jombang to Tuban (East Java)

  1. Interesting what you say about how the locals keep their good clothes so nice and clean. It reminds me of accounts I have heard of some parts of Africa where despite the dirt and lack of water, the mums somehow manage to keep their children’s school or church clothes so crisply clean and white and ironed. I doubt I ever looked that well groomed as a child. Sometimes I feel like self-conscious about my “relaxed” style of dress around my suburb when I see how sparkly clean and well dressed some of the Kenyan and Sudanese family groups are. 🙂
    So much food! Your posts always make me hungry! Looking mighty satisfied lying down there, Andrew. 🙂

    • Yes. In Kenya children always go to school looking well dressed, even when they live in the slums where there is no water. I think it’s a pride thing. As for me, I own almost no clothes so they are never clean anymore

  2. Lucky you have a travel team behind you! Haha. The chicken in the yellow sauce in simply called Ayam Kunir or Yellow Chicken. What you expect is what you get with a name like this. Selamat makan.

    • Oh yeah. Ayam kunir. That’s familiar. I like it very much 🙂

      Yes, I am very lucky to have support team. Makes this trip all the more special. I think every country I visit will have it’s own lessons and experiences. And here having family is quite magical.

Leave a Reply

