Tomorrow: Indonesia

 photo IMG_20141103_175328_zpsekrv4mqo.jpg
Tomorrow I leave on the next leg of my journey: Indonesia. I will be flying to Semarang in Central Java where my family live. On Sunday I will meet my Indonesian family for the first time since I was a teenager. I am very excited about it because I have long felt a connection with my Indonesian heritage. I intend to spend a bit of time riding a motorbike around Central and East Java, with my main focus being East Java. Then I will spend a week in Semarang with my grandmother who lives in Holland but is traveling to Indonesia to revisit the land of her birth and childhood. I’ll end the trip with a few days exploring Central Java with my mum who will also be visiting Indonesia.

It’s going to be a very different trip to Korea in many ways. Rather than being on my bicycle, I will be riding a motorbike and taking public transport. Rather than being alone and meeting backpackers, I will be spending a lot of time with family. Rather than being in a clean and technologically advanced country, I will be using squat toilets and am likely to share the odd hotel room with a cockroach or two.

I am excited. It’s going to be an adventure. And I cannot wait to spend the next month eating Indonesian street food.

9 thoughts on “Tomorrow: Indonesia

  1. I’m not a fan of squat toilets, but the rest sounds exciting! I’m pretty fond of motorbikes having spent a lot of time on them out on farms. I would think they’d be much more fun than trying to cycle some of the steep Indonesian roads in the hot, humid conditions. There should be plenty of interesting pics from this trip. Enjoy your time with family. It sounds like a great adventure!

    • I don’t really like squat toilets either but I did read something a few years ago to say they are healthier for our digestive systems because of the angle of the intestines etc when squatting (won’t get into detail because it’s a gross thought – haha).

      I love motorbikes too. I don’t own a car – only a motorbike (GS500) and pushbike. I am always a little nervous the day before I leave on an adventure because I don’t know what to expect or whether I have bitten off more than I can chew. It’s a cross between the child before Christmas and the teenager before exams πŸ™‚

      • Will have to look up the squat toilets research. πŸ™‚ Actually with my dodgy knees and poor balance I’d probably end up falling backwards or into the pit. I knew a cyclist who dropped her very expensive camera into a pit latrine. She went in after it. Not sure I’d want to risk that…

        Great description – ” It’s a cross between the child before Christmas and the teenager before exams.” I think that very aptly describes it! That’s all part of the adventure isn’t it. Have a great time. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

