A night out in Busan

 photo IMG_2912_zpsb28d1a25.jpg
With Rene the Swiss cyclist also in Busan and a tip from a friend living in Korea, I went out to a restaurant for boshingtang. For those easily offended, please do not read on because boshintang is dog meat stew. This Korean dish is something I had heard about since childhood and it has been a controversial topic of conversation often throughout my life. But while in Korea, I decided to give it a try. The meal was started with some offal that you dip in a sauce and eat. Then came the soup, to which you add all sorts of things like ginger, herbs and chilli coated onion grass. The meal was delicious and filling. The meat itself has a distinct flavour that can probably most be compared with lamb but is slightly different. It was certainly a dish I would eat again because it ticked a lot of food boxes for me: hearty, healthy, full of flavour and cheap.
 photo IMG_2918_zpsdeedc5c6.jpg
I had dinner on the outskirts of Haeundae and decided to take a post-dinner walk back to my hostel near Kyungsung University. Over the next two hours I walked along Haeundae Beach.
 photo IMG_2920_zpsd8f884e1.jpg
 photo IMG_2923_zps6af1378e.jpg
Unchon Quay with it’s swanky-looking apartments and city skyline views.
 photo IMG_2931_zps46b10d46.jpg
A dark fishing harbour.
 photo IMG_2936_zps47f41886.jpg
The Diamond Bridge.
 photo IMG_2937_zpscafbe228.jpg
And Gwangali Beach. The walk took me just over two hours.

7 thoughts on “A night out in Busan

  1. So dog meat is a little bit like lamb/mutton? I had wondered what an animal that is a land carnivore would taste like. It is interesting the different foods that can repel us. I lived on a farm where we ate goat meat all the time and I didn’t think it was much different to sheep meat, but it’s not often sold in the shops and some friends think it would be disgusting. Goats don’t suffer problems with getting “fly-blown” like woolly sheep do and they aren’t affected by spear grass seeds either so they are a bit more suited to our climate in those respects.I’ve eaten kangaroo and emu as well. My Chinese friend gave me a recipe for cooking guinea pig when ours multiplied like crazy… I couldn’t quite bring myself to eat the pets at that stage though! I like how our grandparents’ generation and other cultures try to use most parts of the animal rather than waste it. Anyway, it sounds like it was delicious. Cheap and healthy too. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah I think it is most closely compared to lamb/mutton. It tastes distinctly different but that’s the closest conventional comparison. It’s not gamey like kangaroo or emu.

      Mmmm … I love goat meat. It is one of my favourites. When I am home I am going to have to get to the markets for my fix of The Goat Pie Guy pies.

      A friend of mine used to breed rabbits (in NSW, not Queensland) as a meat animal. He said all you need is three cages of rabbits to stop interbreeding and you’ll always have meat. I would eat guinea pigs. I also think though it is different if the animal is actually your pet with a name. You need to keep the eating ones separate so as not to get attached. πŸ˜‰

  2. My main concern with dog as a food source is how they have been bred, raised and slaughtered.
    Any animal that is consumed by humans should (ideally) not have been scavenging in our rubbish the previous week. Nor would I like them to be ‘farmed’ like cage chickens or factory pigs. And when it comes to slaughtering them, is it quick and clean?
    Unless I know and can live with the answers then I couldn’t eat dog meat.

Leave a Reply

