Gangneung to Donghae (Gangwon-do)

 photo IMG_2178_zps81f478a4.jpg
I left the hostel in Gangneung with no real idea about how far I would get. I decided to just ride and enjoy the seaside towns that I passed. I took the cycleway to the sea where I watched the sun turn the water to gold. A random cyclist on a really cool MTB stopped to say hello and took a photo of us together. It made me smile and was a good start to the day.
 photo IMG_2182_zpsc36b0c31.jpg
I followed a range of small roads and paths through the rice paddies trying to find my way out of Gangneung. It took me 15km before I found my way back to the number 7 road but I enjoyed the detour through the paddies, which gave me plenty of time to get close to the fields and take photos.
 photo IMG_2183_zps82fbfd8f.jpg
The rice harvest looks like it is backbreaking work. While it looks like machinery is used to cut the rice, women and men still bundle it up and carry it off the fields by hand. I am impressed by the farmers’ work ethic and strength.
 photo IMG_2195_zpsce33f686.jpg
 photo IMG_2197_zps56f79db7.jpg
Once on the coast road I wound my way ever southwards. Navigation was a challenge because I didn’t really want to follow the highway but I also didn’t want to spend all day checking my location on Google maps or Naver. So at first I just followed the signs to the Unification Park where I got to explore a captured North Korean submarine and a massive South Korean warship. A group of young sailors were also touring the warship; one in particular was friendly and keen to practice his English. Nineteen out of the twenty-seven rooms on the ship were open to the public, making the ship a worthwhile stop on the road south.
 photo IMG_2212_zps28df08f5.jpg
My favourite “room” was the pilot’s station. It was interesting to see just how limited the view is from through these windows.
 photo IMG_2213_zpsd11c60fd.jpg
And I also liked the helm with it’s old-school controls. It looked like something out of a movie.
 photo IMG_2207_zpsd2e73694.jpg
Speaking of movies. Where else but Korea would you see a romantic photo opportunity on a warship? Unfortunately, I am traveling alone on this trip so I couldn’t get a photo; though I did try to find a spot to use the self-timer on the camera.
 photo IMG_2221_zps4c10add5.jpg
A little further down the road again I climbed a hill to this pagoda. It was so pretty tucked away between the trees. As I descended to return to my bike a group of ladies were setting up a picnic behind their parked cars on the street. They placed down a mat, took off their shoes and proceeded to pour coffees. A polite invitation was extended to me but I decided to decline as it was obviously just that: an invitation out of cultural requirement. And besides, I really don’t like coffee.
 photo IMG_2229_zpsdb1c3dc4.jpg
From another mountainside pagoda I could see the road I was about to ride stretch out before me. This section of road was advertised on the tourist map as one of the most beautiful sections of the Romantic Road of Korea, which I have been following since Yangyang. The road hugged the cliffs but was also exposed to the sea.
 photo IMG_2233_zps5208aa09.jpg
 photo IMG_2237_zpsf566fac2.jpg
I stopped on the side of the road to watch as waves crashed all around. There were warning signs about the potential for waves to break over the road and I imagine at times it could get quite dangerous here if the seas were high.
 photo IMG_2239_zps189f0558.jpg
The sea was actually breaking over the road in a few places and I had to time my crossings carefully so as not to get wet. There was no risk of being swamped and taken out to sea but I still preferred to stay dry.
 photo IMG_2242_zpsacff3506.jpg
A beachside pagoda made a good place for lunch. I tried some of these honey bread things but found them quite dry so I heated a couple up and lathered them in Nutella to make them more palatable. The beaches here are wide. It really struck me all the way down the northern sections of the east coast. You could fit a lot of people out there on a nice warm summer’s day.
 photo IMG_2245_zpsb00f2260.jpg
 photo IMG_2254_zps12684192.jpg
Every cove seemed to have it’s own fishing harbour. Small boats proudly flew Korean flags and the salty air was filled with the sight and smell of fresh fish being dried.
 photo IMG_2293_zps9c30a577.jpg
 photo IMG_2295_zpsd4b2302f.jpg
It was mid-afternoon when I reached Donghae and saw the signs to the caves near the centre of the city. I didn’t expect much so was surprised when I was handed a helmet and instructed in it’s proper adjustment. It turns out that you actually do need a helmet in these caves. Unlike so many I’ve visited in the past, there are places where you actually have to get down and almost crawl under low ceilings and dodge your way past real stalamites (or are they stalagtites?).
 photo IMG_2289_zpscbec8b33.jpg
 photo IMG_2268_zps7429aaa8.jpg
The formations in the caves were stunning. While my guide book of Korea criticises the caves here of having garish lighting, I quite like the colourful effects. It’s quite cheerful.
 photo IMG_2301_zps55a6c54c.jpg
I didn’t make it much further after leaving the caves. I rode for about 10km but was still in the city itself so stopped next to a cycleway in a riverside park where I waited until after sunset to pitch my tent.
 photo IMG_2302_zps8360e342.jpg
Despite the heavy industry humming away across the river, the sunset was superb and I found myself able to relax.

5 thoughts on “Gangneung to Donghae (Gangwon-do)

    • Oh cool. Thanks for the mnemonic. That will remind me. I am having an amazing time over here cycling in Korea. It’s only my third cycle tour (the first two having been in Australia in July and August this year) and my first time overseas alone (I’ve only traveled with my family as a child and my ex-partner as an adult) so there are many things to learn and experience beyond Korea itself. I am definitely hooked though.

  1. I read a book that offered a way to remember the difference between stalactites and stalagmites – one has a ‘c’ for ‘ceiling’ and one has a ‘g’ for ‘ground’.
    Also, similar to ‘tights hang down’, stalactites have to ‘hold on tight’ or they’ll fall down.
    Glad you didn’t get wet on the road – salt water is sticky when it dries, and you don’t want it on your bike. But how beautiful. Interesting that they’re protecting the road with concrete ‘rocks’ – I wonder how many there are, and how much concrete it took to make them.
    : )

Leave a Reply

