Donghae to Hasan

IMG_20170717_072850
The sun rise over industrial Donghae is stunning. Construction sites and factories form intriguing shapes against the red horizon. I’ve slept well, eaten a good breakfast and am on the road fairly early (by my standards). Nearby women and men prepare their stalls at the Donghae Five Day Traditional Market. All manner of vehicle is used to bring the goods to market. Little blue trucks litter the street as older marketeers unload bundles of vegetables that seem heavier than the people lifting them. Wheelbarrows are pushed down the road as though the trucks and cars bustling about don’t exist. Pumpkins, shallots, Korean radishes and dried chillies are just some of the items you can buy here. I come to a rocky beach. It’s tucked away in a cove just after the industrial zone ends. If I had arrived from the south and stopped here I wouldn’t even guess that Donghae is an industrial hub. The golden sun creates silhouettes of the rocks and I walk a short path around the headland to properly enjoy it.

Despite being on the coast the ride is no doddle. The mountains here drop right down into the sea. And no concrete has been wasted when building the roads. Grades of 13% and higher are quite normal. The climbs are rewarded with stunning ocean views of water so clear that you can see the changes in depth.

At the top of  a climb I stumble upon Haesindang Park with it’s famous phallic statues. That’s right … a whole park dedicated to the male member. Most of the other guests of the park (entry 3,000 won) are small groups of women giggling with each other. I even spot a nun wearing a habit among one of the groups. I spot two young couples holding hands with love struck grins on their faces and a couple of men looking embarrassed being led around by their wives. There is a large fishing village museum in the middle of the park but I don’t see anyone entering it.

While some of the statues are rather erotic and suggestive, others are more creative. They have been placed here to appease the spirit of a young lady who drowned when a wave swamped a nearby island. She was a seaweed collector and loved a local fisherman. He took her to a small island to collect seaweed and said he would return after his day fishing. When the time came for him to collect the lady a storm broke out and made it impossible for him to reach the island. During the storm the island was swamped by a wave and the lady drowned. Thereafter, the village suffered poor catches until someone made an offering of a phallic statue in the shrine. After that statue was offered, the village again had successful catches so more statues were added to continue to appease the lady. The entire walking route is about 1.5km (1 mile) return and there are many statues to be seen.

I reach Hasan where I see a big sign advertising a motel. It’s a tempting sight and it’s after 3pm but I decide to push on to find a place to camp. A closed camping ground across the river looks tempting but, again, Hasan-ri is an industrial place and something doesn’t feel right about camping here. Perhaps it’s my desire not to freeload or the signs with red letters and barrier across the entrance to the park. Whatever it is, I can’t relax here and I need a good night sleep.

13 thoughts on “Donghae to Hasan

  1. Drying rice on the road? Well, if there’s not much traffic and it works, why not?!
    And that coast looks fabulous. Really fabulous. How much does your raft/kayak weigh? How warm warm the days right now?

      • The days are low 20s from what I can tell. I feel warm but Google tells me that the daytime temps are about 22 degrees or so. I find it quite warm having come out of the South Australian and Victorian winter. And the sun shines hot here. I am so sunburned on my arms and face today.

      • When you’re active in the sunshine it always feels warmer than if you’re just popping out for lunch after being indoors. Maybe?
        Maybe some of the sunburn is reflected from the road and/or sea? As long as you keep hydrated… I presume you’re wearing suncream?

      • Hmmm … suncream? Yes, that would be a good idea *blushes*. I am very disorganised. Must do something about that. hahaha.

        I am definitley staying hydrated. I drink a lot of water and stop every town to buy something cold to drink. The great thing is that Korean water is safe to drink. So you just fill up from any tap. And there are often water bottle filling stations in parks and cities. Ocassionally in the rural areas you hve to buy water because there are no taps but then it’s only $1 for 2L of water.

    • Haha about the rice. They dry it on the road even if there is traffic. I was on the highway the other day and a whole lane was blocked by rice. It is very funny. It’s a sign of the country’s shift from traditional to modern ways.

      The coast is amazing here. I am looking forward to seeing the southern coast next week too. I think that will also be just amazing.

      My packraft weighs about 2.4kg then another 1.4kg for the paddle and probably about 1kg for the PFD.

      Days are hot. Maybe low 20s and sunny. Nights are cool. Maybe 8-12 degrees depending on altitude.

      This is a fantastic time of year to travel Korea.

  2. Such a different way of life over there. Can you imagine food being dried like that in Australia? Thanks for sharing another way of life.

    The motel sounds “interesting”! Yes, it must have been great to finally feel clean after a few days on the road. You’d feel like a new person. 🙂

    • It is incredibly different. In some ways better because it is so safe. In other ways worse because it seems so structured and serious. So yes, different. I love it here. Some days are tough but there are more smiles than challenges and most challenges could be avoided by having learned some language, not riding as far each day and not being such a tight a** when it comes to buying food or accommodation. Haha

      • I’m a bit of a cheap-skate too so I know what you mean. We didn’t have much money growing up so I’ve got into that habit of searching for the cheap options. 🙂

    • I laughed out loud writing it and trying to select the best images (I have many many images of the park on my Looking for 42 Facebook page and a few much cheekier ones on my personal Facebook page). Korea is such an amazing country. Seriously, if the KTO offered me a job selling Korea to western adventurers I reckon I’d make them a motza because I really love traveling here

Leave a Reply

