What’s booked next

It’s now less than 48 hours until I fly to Korea for the first overseas leg of my adventures. I have just booked flights to Indonesia so it seems that a big portion of my first year of travel will be spent in Asia. Here’s what is currently booked:

  • 21 September – 28 October: Korea (cycle touring)
  • 15 November – 12 December: Indonesia (motorcycle touring Java)
  • 13 January – 10 February: Thailand (car touring)
  • 8 March – 1 April: Japan (cycle touring)
  • 2 April – 13 April: Malaysia (car touring)
  • 14 April – 12 May: Japan (cycle touring)

At this stage, my next adventures after might be:

  • June 2015: Larapinta Trail, Northern Territory, Australia (250km hike)
  • July 2015: New Zealand (skiing)
  • August 2015: India (on a Geckos Tour)
  • September – October 2015: Bibbulmun Track, Western Australia (950km hike)
  • December 2015: Nepal (motorcycle touring and trekking)
9 thoughts on “What’s booked next

    • Exactly. Though I have just changed my mind again. I think in October next year I will go cycling in China for 1 month instead of bushwalking. I love China and spring is a good time to go.

      • I have been overseas (not for a while) and I’m glad I’ve been, but I find it hard to leave Australia. There’s too many places here that I want to visit more than anywhere else.
        But where ever you end up going, it’s good to have something to look forward to! : )

      • While there is a lot to see in Oz, I find that overseas travel gives a whole new cultural and historical perspective with which to view the world. There’s nothing quite like being the only white person in a room or trying to communicate when you don’t speak the local language. It’s humbling and magical. I am so excited to be spending the next few years focusing on overseas travel. I think I will end up mostly in Asia because its affordable, I love Asian food and Asian culture rocks my world ๐Ÿ™‚

        That’s not to say I don’t like to travel in Oz. But if given a choice I’ll get on a plane every time. Haha.

      • Bahaha. We were having a laugh about that at the hostel the other night. An English woman was saying how funny it is that Australians travel overseas and they go to New Zealand, Bali, Phuket, Hong Kong and London. She said it was her striking impression of Australian travelers she had spoken with during her six months in Oz and who she met in the UK. She was surprised when I said I was going to Korea and gave me a lighthearted ribbing about Aussie travelers ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Well of those 5 I’ve only been to NZ. Italy (& a couple of neighbours) and South Africa are my only other overseas trips. Can’t really count the stop-overs as they were all less than 24hrs.
        Thought Japan was more popular – maybe not after Fukushima?
        Bali and Fiji are two destinations I know a lot of friends and family have visited.
        I know those places rely on tourists, but so do many of our own towns. And I guess I’m not terribly adventurous anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I don’t know about the affects of Fukushima. I’m heading to Japan in March. Can’t wait. No idea where yet. I don’t even have a guide book or map yet but will get that a week or two before I leave – LOL. All I know is that there are cherry blossoms in the spring and that’s why I am going there at that time of year.

        I love Italy. I was there in 2001. I hope to go back one day to spend a few months there exploring more thoroughly but not by bicycle. Italy is terrible for cycling but very good for staying local and hiring a scooter to get around before moving to the next town to do the same.

Leave a Reply

