Skiing at Mt Baw Baw (Victorian Alps)

 photo IMG_1176_zpsc0063bb6.jpg
If I am honest, I was a little anxious about whether I would enjoy “going to the snow” as much as I thought I would. I really didn’t need to worry: I arrived at the snow today and had the most fantastic time.
 photo IMG_1178_zps6602398a.jpg
I was nervous as I walked out of the ski hire sho. What if I couldn’t remember how to ski? What if I fell straight over as soon as I clipped in? Or worse, what if I lost control and crashed into a tree? But I pushed these anxieties aside and eventually clipped in. I felt oddly comfortable as I skied up to the T-bar lift for my first run on an easy green run. The T-bar was slower than I expected so that helped me get a feel for the way my skis moved over the snow.
 photo IMG_1184_zps07fe5395.jpg
The view from the top of the run took my breath away. The mountain is so high compared with the lands that stretched out before me.
 photo IMG_20140826_124718_zps1cuti2g1.jpg
 photo IMG_1181_zps556e11f8.jpg
While the snow was slushy and only three out of six lifts were operating, the ski fields of Mt Baw Baw are beautiful. The colour and shapes of the snow gums are more amazing against the white snow than I have ever seen them in the summer months. The patterns really stood out.
 photo IMG_1182_zps70dea6e2.jpg
It was very quiet at the resort today and I never had to wait for lifts; often having whole lifts and runs to myself.
 photo IMG_1186_zps2d6b409a.jpg
It’s pretty awesome to have uncrowded ski fields.
 photo IMG_1199_zpse0116439.jpg
 photo IMG_1196_zpsdbe45c3e.jpg
But the real treat came at the end of the day after I hung up my skis and went out for a sunset walk around the resort. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen a more visually captivating sunset.
 photo IMG_1215_zps1a02eb4c.jpg
It was a happy day.

2 thoughts on “Skiing at Mt Baw Baw (Victorian Alps)

    • Hey Tamsyn πŸ™‚ . Thank you. I have more joyful pics to upload on Friday night when I have Internet access again. I have run out of bandwidth for the month on my laptop so need to wait until I am back in Melbourne to use the backpacker hostel’s facilities. I took a very funny stack today and took a pic afterwards.

Leave a Reply

