Greenock Creek Tavern: Simply wonderful

 photo IMG_0555_zps34c9911c.jpg
I ummed and aahed all afternoon about whether or not I wanted to go to the pub for a feed. I was feeling relaxed and wonderful. I had noodles, packet tuna and baby spinach that I could cook up. But would that really satisfy me at the end of such a luxuriously lazy day? Probably not. So I wandered out of teh park and down the road to the Greenock Creek Tavern. The public bar was packed with locals, a young couple sat at a table outside despite the cold and a man was sitting on a leather couch in front of a crackling fire. He stood up and walked into the public bar as I walked in, leaving me with the option of settling into the seat he had vacated. Well, what a delightful half hour I had sipping lemonade, warming myself in front of the fire and continuing to read the book I started in the afternoon (don’t judge me but I am reading Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason and am findiing it hilarious).
 photo IMG_0557_zps7dd4dea4.jpg
I felt welcome and unhurried in the pub. I had incidated I was going to buy dinner but no one rushed me to place an order. Rather, I was able to sit on the couch in peace to read until I was ready. When I was ready, I decided on pizza but the smell of garlic coming from the kitchen was too strong to resist so I also ordered what I thought would be a modest entree-sized portion of garlic flatbread to go with my Barossa Valley pizza. What came out of the kitchen was amazing. Two huge pizzas: one garlic and one with all these delicious toppings. I am sure that the large would feed a small army given that these were the small portions. There was no skimping on the toppings and the dough was the perfect balance of thick and thin. I washed it down with a Barossa Cider Co apple cider, which I can report is a great drop. I definitely didn’t eat all the pizza so was given a pizza box so I could take the leftovers home for breakfast.
 photo IMG_0558_zpsa7364c66.jpg
Pizza packed in a box, I was still enjoying the warmth of the pub: both in temperature and atmosphere. The deserts menu had four items. I don’t quite remember what the other three were because my eyes were drawn immediately to the Ferrero Rocher donut. I was sure that for $9 I wasn’t just going to get a donut dumped on my plate. But I certainly didn’t expect this beautiful food art to appear. And I can report that it was as delicious as it was beautiful. There was a Ferrero Rocher in the middle of the donut, which was topped with awesome chocolate sauce. The cream, berry sauce, ice cream and strawberry just topped it off wonderfully. Oh, and that wafer stick was filled with chocolate – just as though it was part of a Ferrero Rocher chocolate itself.

I lay in bed last night feeling rather stuffed. I definitely ate too much. But oh it was worth it.

4 thoughts on “Greenock Creek Tavern: Simply wonderful

  1. thankyou for the beautiful photos im so glad you enjoyed our food and hospitality i love doing my desserts next time try one of my home made icecreams….make sure you give me a yell so i can come say hello cheers michelle head chef greenock tavern

    • Hi Michelle 🙂 Thanks for coming to check out the page. I hope to find my way to Greenock again sometime. I’m back living in Brisbane so at least I am in the same country. Greenock Creek Tavern is definitely a memory of the past 20 months of travel that stands out.

Leave a Reply

