Sitting out the rain in Clare (Clare Valley)

 photo IMG_20140723_194134_zpsh9q6yf8k.jpg
I need to tell you something important about myself. It’s something that sets me aside from many other travelers and cycle tourers whose blogs I follow. It’s not something I’m ashamed of but it is something that I sometimes feel a little embarassed about. Oh dear, how on earth do I share this with all those who read my blog … I guess I just say it:

I don’t like to intentionally seek out hardship when I travel. While some hardship and discomfort is to be expected, I am not the kind of person who is likely to chose the muddy dirt track when there’s a perfectly good sealed road to ride. I am not going to sleep in a hammock when I can be warm in a tent. And I am not going to ride in the rain if the weather forecast says that it will stop in two days time.

So there you have it. My little confession. I hope you are laughing along with me. Why is this relevant today? Because it has been raining and cold today. We had a brief reprieve from the rain for about two hours in the early afternoon but then it came back. So I extended my stay here in Clare for an extra night and spent the day stayiing dry. First I worked for about 6 hours by the fire in the communal seating area (which I had to myself). Then I cycled the 4km (2.5 miles) into town to eat lunch in a nice warm cafe, have a sports massage, buy a book to read (reading electronic books just isn’t doing it for me) and start reading the book in another cafe where I ate cake. While I was out I also bought some warm socks because I am sick of having cold feet. And now … wel, I am back in front of the fireplace knocking out a few more hours work so that I can go out to play when the sun comes out.

If it rains tomorrow, I will again stay put. The forecast is for the rain to ease on Friday so that’s when I think I’ll move on. Why cycle in the rain if I don’t have to? And that’s my confession 🙂

8 thoughts on “Sitting out the rain in Clare (Clare Valley)

    • 🙂 I am glad I am not alone. I often find that when I read stories of long distance cycle tourers (granted I am talking more about the stories written by men here) that they often talk about long hours caught in the rain and long days in the saddle and chosing the hard road because it’s ore adventurous. It made me quite anxous about the idea of becoming a cycle tourer. But then I discovered Cycling Dutch Girl and all that changed. Though I do still sometimes feel a little embarassed by my low mileage and sitting out the rain 😉 . Haha. Only a little. Not enough to start changing my style 😉

    • Enjoy the open fire and the comfortable stay! Hope it’s raining for another few days so you can continue to work and take a bonus-week off when the sun returns! X

      • Tomorrow I will leave … I have worked enough hours for a full week off … but it is nice to have a few rain days every so often … so long as I can get warm and dry. I don’t want really bad weather … haha

  1. I think it’s nothing to be embarrassed about. If you have the option to stay dry, you might as well take it 🙂

    I’ll be going on a mini cycle tour in Scotland in September – from Inverness to the Orkney islands. I’m dreading the rain because I know I won’t really have the luxury to wait it out if it last for a day or two (or more) because I have a limited time frame in which to reach my destination. If I had more time I would most likely do like you – wait in a warm dry place for the rain to stop.

    • Haha. I’m not really that embarrassed. It was my Australian humor, which doesn’t translate well online 🙂 .

      How long do you have for your tour? I think it would be an amazing area to cycle there. I drove and camped through Scotland in 2006 and loved it. Want to go back to do some hiking there. So I am excited to read about your adventure.

      Yes, I am fortunate not to need to move on quickly. Cycle touring (or hiking) in the rain is something I don’t like much. Camping is ok so long as the inside of my tent stays dry. So far so good but my tent is being tested by lots of wind and ground water (the soil is soaked so not taking anymore water in and it’s starting to puddle).

      Another quiet day for me today before I move on tomorrow with the rain due to ease this afternoon. Only 20 miles to my next camp so will do that tomorrow. Sunshine for Saturday 🙂

      • I’ll have about 14 days. I’m sure it’ll be plenty of time to do all I want to do but as I’ve never tried Scotland on a bike (I’ve done a bit of Devon though) I’m not sure how long it’ll take me to trudge over the big hills.

        Where did you go in Scotland? Any place you’d particularly recomment in the East?

      • It was a long time ago I was in Scotland. Just did the usual 5 week race around the UK from Dover along the bottom scoot through Wales and zip through Scotland. So can’t really give any tips sorry

Leave a Reply

